Book reviews

The Kiss of Deception by Mary E Pearson [Book Review]

Hello everyone!

This isn’t a recent read, just an updated version of my review I posted on Amazon somewhere last year. I’m planning to post updated reviews of the books I’ve read since I don’t have any new books to review. The only new book I know that I’ll review next month is A Court of Wings and Ruins by Sarah J Maas! 😀 But until then, I’ll post my other reviews first.

IMG_5995

“A PRINCESS MUST FIND HER PLACE IN A REBORN WORLD.

She flees on her wedding day. She steals ancient documents from the Chancellor’s secret collection. She is pursued by bounty hunters sent by her own father. She is Princess Lia, seventeen, First Daughter of the House of Morrighan.

The Kingdom of Morrighan is steeped in tradition and the stories of a bygone world, but some traditions Lia can’t abide. Like having to marry someone she’s never met to secure a political alliance.

Fed up and ready for a new life, Lia flees to a distant village on the morning of her wedding. She settles in among the common folk, intrigued when two mysterious handsome strangers arrive — and unaware that one is the jilted prince and the other an assassin sent to kill her. Deceptions swirl and Lia finds herself on the brink of unlocking perilous secrets — secrets that may unravel her world–even as she feels herself falling in love.”

First of all, I have to admit that I bought this book because the cover is SO pretty!! Also, the idea of deception sounded interesting to me (at that time) because I didn’t read a lot of books that were focused on it. Anyway, let’s get into it!

The excerpt pretty much sums up the first 3 chapters of the book, I think. Although the plot may sound cheesy.. it actually turned up good! It was really interesting because usually plots like this end up being really cliché, but this book wasn’t like that. Instead of the princess dreading, she actually ended up integrating really well with the locals. You don’t need to worry about reading a princess who immediately regrets her decisions, definitely not. Or even about someone who looks down on certain things just because of her status. Overall, the plot was really good!

IMG_5998

I have to say; the best part of this book is definitely the writing. It is absolutely beautiful! The way Mary Pearson just described everything in this book was so magical, and I definitely felt it. The words she used were so exquisite and made the story so much more stunning. I was so captivated! It wasn’t just her describing the surroundings or whatever in full detail; it was how she did it. I absolutely adored the writing.

Also, because the writing was so gorgeous, the world building was great! I have to say that it’s mostly based in the Middle Age. Of course the author added her own twist, but I did like reading how the world was. We also get to learn their history and religions. I think it was great that the history part was explained just nicely in the first book; not too much and not too little.

IMG_6002

Now… the characters. Like I said, the main character is good. She’s quite rational, smart and very determined. So having a main character who isn’t typical is great because even if the plot isn’t that strong, at least having a strong character does. What I also liked was that we were only introduced to few people. In my opinion, I don’t like to read a lot about so many characters, especially in a trilogy. Anyway, the other characters were great! Of course, each one had their own motive (thus the ‘Deception’ in the title) but it was quite interesting.

So reading this book, there are 3 parts: the main character, the prince and the assassin. So you will NOT know who is who until you reach towards the end. This was interesting at first, then it became so frustrating cause halfway through the book, I thought the prince’s POV was actually the assassin and vice versa. Thankfully I wasn’t the only one who felt like this! But yes, that was the only major downside of the book.

 

I still stand by my 4/5 stars review on Amazon. I do recommend this book, especially if you’re a fan of literature!

Leave a Reply

