Book reviews

The Kidney Donor’s Journey by Ari Sytner [Book Review]

Hello everyone!

Please read the ‘Info’ page first before reading my review on ‘The Kidney Donor’s Journey’ as this book was given to me by the author, Ari, himself.

Today, I’m reviewing a really different kind of book. Although I love Fantasy/Romance, I am willing to read other genres if they are interesting. This book, in particular, is a book that I honestly wouldn’t pick up if I saw it in a book store. I’m just not interested in reading novels like this because I’m not a fan of this particular genre. Of course, we all have different preferences 🙂

The Kidney's donor journey.jpg

“After an unexpected year-long journey of exploring kidney donation, Ari Sytner became a kidney donor to save the life of a single mother of 3 children. The experience was so inspirational and transformative, that Ari revealed the entire journey in this first ever question and answer book, outlining the 100 questions he struggled with before deciding to proceed with his transplant and give the gift of life.

The Kidney Donor’s Journey walks you through every stage of Ari’s process, from researching, struggling and telling his family, to testing, undergoing surgery and recovery. The book inspires readers to weigh the personal and ethical values of kindness and human life, while sharing a moving and uplifting tale of one man’s journey to make a difference in the world. “

This book is written in a Q&A format. I thought it would be written in a biography format cause it would’ve been more interesting and preferable for me. Nonetheless, it was straightforward and easy to follow. In terms of writing, it was actually good. It’s written in first person narrative, of course, but still I actually do like the writing! I thought it was well-edited and also easy to understand, so definitely young teens can read this without any complications.

I must say though, I did not like the book. It felt more like reading a textbook so it gets really boring at times. Also, the questions asked were super general, like, questions you can actually find in your science textbook. I thought the questions would be interesting, but it wasn’t. Literally, half of the questions asked were actually touching on topics I have studied in my Biology class in high school and sixth form. So, to anyone who has studied Biology, this book would bore you.

Aside from that, there were times in the book that the author seemed too arrogant. I really wanted to enjoy, but that tone in the book really killed my mood. It was like… there was no humility at all. Moreover, the ‘inspiring’ parts of the book felt a bit too forced. I didn’t feel inspired, but more on “Okay, that’s good for him” kind of feeling. Although the writing was good, some parts were just overdone, in my opinion.

I would recommend this book to those who want to know more about kidney donation, especially those who did not study Biology or what, because this book would give you decent knowledge of the process. Personally, I wouldn’t recommend it to anyone else.

Leave a Reply

