Book reviews

A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J Maas [Book Review]

Hello everyone!

I’m so, so happy to share this review! After reading ACOMAF and falling in love with it, I couldn’t stop re-reading the book over and over again. So yes, I’ve been waiting for so long for ACOWAR! Sarah’s other book, Heir of Fire, was my favourite book of all time. But after reading ACOWAR…. yes, I have a new favourite book! ACOWAR is perfection.

DSC_0211

Feyre has returned to the Spring Court, determined to gather information on Tamlin’s maneuverings and the invading king threatening to bring Prythian to its knees. But to do so she must play a deadly game of deceit — and one slip may spell doom not only for Feyre, but for her world as well.

As war bears down upon them all, Feyre must decide who to trust amongst the dazzling and lethal High Lords — and hunt for allies in unexpected places.”

Obviously, the plot revolves around war and how the characters are preparing for it. What made it more interesting was the internal conflicts between the characters and Courts, the deception some characters had and how the war actually played out. And it wasn’t just war with Fae and humans; there were other..beings. I thought that was really cool! Aside from war, the plot also focuses on the deeper relationships between the characters. It was emotional yet so beautiful. The last quarter of the book made me cry a lot, but the book ended on a great note for me.

DSC_0215

The characters are definitely much more complex in this book, not just only the main characters (the Inner Circle) but also the new characters we meet. The personalities of the characters were very diverse, which is a good thing! Although some characters didn’t develop much *ahem, Tamlin* , there were others who did, and revealed surprising traits of themselves. On the other hand, the love stories were complicated. I’ve read other reviews about how some of the people are disappointed at how the love stories played out, but I liked that Sarah didn’t go down the predictable road for the love stories. It was complex and confusing due to the many gaps but it also made me more excited to see what Sarah has in store for those couples in the next book!

Lastly, the writing in this book is definitely the best out of the first 3 books. Of course, that’s due to Feyre’s development after all she’s been through, but it was so great to read the perspective from a character who’s so strong (both physically and mentally) yet so kind to things that others often look over. The writing also focuses more on gruesome details, which I found entertaining! So it was really detailed from the first page to the last; the war and what went on. But what made this book stand out was how the emotions of the characters were written. It reminded me a lot of Heir of Fire, but it was so much better! It was deeper and much more emotional. It was so stunning.

DSC_0219

That’s it! I tried to make this review more on what I felt while I read the book and resisted spilling any spoilers or what. But I think this review really summed up how I feel. I’m so glad that the ACOTAR series will be continuing!

Leave a Reply

